Department of Mathematical Sciences  

The Department offers three Masters programmes: M. Sc. Mathematics (specialization : Applied Mathematics), M. Sc. Mathematics (Regular) and M. Sc. Mathematics (Evening). All these programmes are of two years duration and comprise 4 Semesters each. The Department initiated postgraduate programme in Mathematics largely to prepare manpower for teaching and research. The postgraduate programme in M. Sc. Mathematics (Specialization : Applied Mathematics) has been conceived with the aim of developing among students mathematical skills and acumen required in real life problems in the fields of medicine, agriculture, industry, trade, finance etc. It prepares them for jobs in banks, corporate sectors, industry etc. In 2016, the Postgraduate Programme M. Sc. Mathematics (Evening) has been introduced due to huge demand and availability of limited seats in the regular programme.

                  Front View of Deparment

The course curriculum, eligibility criteria, procedure for admission to the Evening programme is same as for the regular programme. The curriculum for first two semesters of all the three post graduate programmes is common, while the courses offered, in third and fourth semesters, to the students of  M. Sc. Mathematics   (Specialization: Applied Mathematics) are largely different from those which we offer to the students of M. Sc. Mathematics    (Regular / Evening).  The fourth semester is partially devoted to execution of project work to train students in problem identification and solving. Furthermore, each student has to compulsorily pass one non-creditable massive open online course (MOOCs) under SWAYAM platform during the two-year programme. The Department maintains rich library, which is being liberal funded by the National Board of Higher Mathematics, and a well equipped computer lab.

The Department is also running M. Phil. and Ph. D. programmes, in both Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, with a view to promote original thinking and creative work among students of the region. The M. Phil. programme is full time course of one year duration comprising minimum of two and maximum of four consecutive semesters. Every student admitted to the M. Phil programme is required to offer and undertake course work or course and research work in the following manner: a) Eight courses of study (4 courses in each semester), each course carrying 100 marks. Or b) Four courses of study in the first and dissertation in the second semester; each course of study carrying 100 marks and dissertation carrying 400 marks. The Ph. D. programme is based on the course and research work. Before registration to the Ph. D programme, every scholar (who gets admission straight after the Post Graduation) enrolled to the Ph. D. programme, is required to pursue and pass pre-Ph.D. course work, with at least 50% marks, but those Ph. D. enrolled scholars who hold  M. phil. Degree are not required to pursue a Pre – Ph. D Course work.